This course will become read-only in the near future. Tell us at if that is a problem.

Lecture No. 3 with Amanda Cox

Please join us Friday for the third lecture of the #MozNewsLab. Details on how to join the lecture can be found below.

Details on how to join the live lecture can be found in the e-mail that will be sent to you Friday morning. If you do not receive the e-mail, please direct message Phillip ( ) or Alex ( )

Leture No. 3 details:

When: Friday, July 15, 2011 at 8:30 AM PT / 11:30 AM ET / 4:30 PM BST / 5:30 PM CEST

Please double-check the time in your local timezone:


+ Our guest -- Amanda Cox -- will join us at **8:30 AM Pacific**. Please arrive on time, or a few minutes early (the room will open 10 minutes before the call).

+ Around 9:10 AM Pacific we'll open up the lecture to a question and answer period.

+ Speaker: Amanda Cox is a graphics editor at the New York Times, where she creates charts and maps for the print and web versions of the paper. More than that, Amanda is recognized widely as a leading practitioner in the field of the data exploration, visuallization, and presentation in the context of news. The New York Times graphics desk is a team of 25 designers, cartographers and developers who report on the news – in a visual way. Amanda will share some of the lessons the group has learned along the way, particularly in the field of data visualization.

Some examples to pique your curiosity:

If you would like a whirlwind tour of the field of data visualization, you should check out this great documentary from Stanford University (which features Amanda throughout):  (it's about one hour to watch the whole documentary and well worth the time investment)

A quick note on attendance: Today's lecture is an optional lecture. That said, we'll be really happy to see you there, as will Amanda.  :)

Recorded lecture link:

Task Discussion